Archive

Archive for the ‘Databases Delaware’ Category

LegalTrac is back up

April 2nd, 2013 No comments

LegalTrac is back up again.

Categories: Databases Delaware Tags:

LegalTrac is down

April 2nd, 2013 No comments

The LegalTrac database is currently down due to a problem with Gale, the database provider. In the meantime, you could try using Index to Legal Periodicals instead.

Online legal research: Bloomberg Law

February 18th, 2013 No comments

Along with Lexis and Westlaw, Widener Law Library now also has access to new competitor Bloomberg Law. Bloomberg Law provides access to statutes, case law and administrative law, as well as legal news. It also includes access to federal and selected state court dockets plus Bloomberg’s famous business information. Widener students can sign up for Bloomberg here or clicking on “Law Schools” on the Bloomberg Law web page. Be sure to use your Widener email address when you register.

Online legal research: HeinOnline

February 11th, 2013 No comments

HeinOnline is another great online research source available to you through the Widener Law Library webpage. You may have used HeinOnline to access law review articles but it has a lot more to offer. It’s particularly good for historic research because it has all state and federal session laws, Federal Registers, Code of Federal Regulations, Restatements of the Law and much more. They also have a nice app for iPhone and iPad that makes it easy to read law reviews on your iPad.

Online legal research: The A to Z electronic title list

February 4th, 2013 No comments

One of the research sources you may notice on the Widener Law Library web page is the A to Z Electronic Title List. But what is it for?

It’s definitely one of my favorite  sources we have available here at Widener and makes my research a lot easier. Say you need to find an article in Business Lawyer, or the Harvard Law Review, or Health Affairs. It must be available somewhere online but where? Is it on Lexis, Westlaw, ProQuest or EbscoHost? Just go to the Widener Law Library web page, click on A to Z Electronic Title List, and type in the title of the journal you are looking for. You’ll get a list of online sources where you can read the journal. Just click on the one you want and you’ll have access to the journal.

ProQuest unveils new look

January 31st, 2012 No comments

ProQuest has just rolled out an upgrade to its popular website. The new start page is cleaner and easier to use. No longer do you have to select from a long list of databases to search. You can search everything at once from one search box, or choose by topic.

ProQuest is a great place to search for news and articles on non-legal subjects like business, health, science, technology and literature. If you have any questions or need help with ProQuest or our other databases ask one of our reference librarians.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals now on HeinOnline

November 15th, 2011 No comments

heinonline_logoNeed to research a foreign law subject? The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is now available on HeinOnline. The IFLP indexes law journals published outside of the United States. HeinOnline’s IFLP includes records from 1985 to date. Any articles in IFLP that are available in HeinOnline are hot linked directly from the index. If you need a copy of an article that is not available on HeinOnline please contact a reference librarian for help.

Doing non-legal research?

October 17th, 2011 No comments

Writing a paper and need non-legal sources? The Widener Law Library subscribes to three databases that can be very helpful for non-legal research. EbscoHost, ProQuest, and JSTOR each offer full text articles from many journals different subject areas, including economics, science, medicine and more.

Like many of our other databases, you can access all three from on campus and off. If you are off campus you’ll be asked to enter your name and the barcode number on the back of the Widener ID to log on.

HeinOnline announces iPad app

October 5th, 2011 No comments

heinonline_logoWith the new HeinOnline iPad app you can search and read law journals, legal classics, session laws, treaties and anything else available on HeinOnline right from your iPad. The app is free, as long as you have access to HeinOnline, as all Widener students and faculty do. You have to authenticate your subscription once every 30 days from the Widener campus but otherwise you can use the HeinOnline app from anywhere.

HeinOnline is up!

July 13th, 2011 No comments

HeinOnline is back up. Please contact the reference desk if you have any problems.